Verde’s Doohickey


Verde’s Doohickey follows Jad Novus and his group of intrepid teenage friends who find themselves in possession of a mysterious body switching device from an enigmatic individual known as Verde Dusk. With this incredible power at their disposal, they set off on a low-key adventure about friendship, anxiety, the alteration and rewriting of reality, and other miscellaneous teenage shenanigans.

Content Warning

This work contains sexually explicit activities, childhood trauma, domestic violence, strong language, and incest. Reader discretion is advised.


This novel is a work of fiction. Names, characters, locales, and events are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any intellectual properties referenced are property of their respective owners.

Verde’s Doohickey is the first part of The Saga of Dawn and Dusk series created by Natalie Neumann. No prerequisite reading is needed to fully understand this story.

Verde’s Doohickey was originally released on August 15th, 2015. Since then it has been revised repeatedly. Typographical errors and grammatical mistakes have been corrected, certain sections have been rewritten for quality purposes, the formatting of the novel has been changed, and minor aspects of the story have been altered.

Verde’s Doohickey – Session Extra

Verde’s Doohickey – Session Extra is an alternate universe continuation of Verde’s Doohickey. Six months after coming into possession of a mysterious body switching device— the VD— Jad Novus and friends have learned much about themselves and their friends through their regular body swap adventures. However, these playful days come to an end as the VD suddenly breaks, swapping around their bodies one final time. With no means of ever returning to ‘normal’ they accept these new bodies as their own and begin their new lives.

Verde’s Doohickey – Session Extra was released on September 6, 2022, over seven years after the original August 15, 2015 release of Verde’s Doohickey.

Table of Contents:
Session 01: Re;Birth.exe
Session 02: Osananajimi;Myself
Session 03: Maximum Flare
Session 04: The World of Girl Love
Session 05: It’s Slippery When Wet
Session 06: T-Girl Trouble
Session 07: All The Warriors
Session 08: A School-Style Swap
Session 09: School Daze
Session 10: Starred Social Links
Session 11: Finer Foreshadowing
Session 12: Dark Dreams Develop Despair
Session 13: Back 2 Best Girl
Session 14: Can’t Even Shine In A Prism
Session 15: Maxxie Mit Melancholy
Session 16: The Long Walk Home
Session 17: Obtuse Origins – Omega Overdrive
Afterword: Natalie Rambles About Verde’s Doohickey
Session Extra.1: Adoration
Session Extra.2: Inheritance
Session Extra.3: Resonance
Session Extra.4: Confessions

This novel is also available via GoogleDocs and in ePub format.

For those who wish to support the official release, you can purchase this novel on Amazon.

If you have any comments about the story, positive or negative, please leave a comment on any of the posted chapters, as I love getting feedback on my work.